top of page


The Icelandic Cricket Association is an amateur organisation, overseen by an elected Board of volunteers. The key position-holders are as follows:

  • Chairman Bala Kamallakharan 

  • Vice Chairman Samuel Gill

  • Secretary David Cook

  • Treasurer Lakmal Amaratunga

  • National team coach Keenan Botha

  • National team captain (2021 and 2022) Lakmal Bandara


There are four active teams in Iceland:


  • Reykjavík, nicknamed the Vikings, founded as Kylfan in 2000, and currently captained by Lakmal Bandara

  • Kópavogur, nicknamed the Puffins, founded in 2015, and currently captained by David Cook

  • Hafnarfjörður, nicknamed the Hammers, founded in 2018 and currently captained by Sulaman Nawaz

  • Vesturbær, nicknamed the Volcano, founded in 2021 and currently captained by Sampath Kumar Nagarajan


There are five defunct teams: Stykkishólmur (2000 to 2003), Tryggingamiðstöðin (2001 to 2002), Tata (2008), Seltjarnarnes (2018) and Garðabær (2018 to 2020).


There are seven annual domestic competitions in Iceland:


  • The Volcanic Ashes, the indoor competition, first played in 2015. It has been won by Kópavogur five times  (2015, 2016, 2019,2020 and 2022) and Reykjavík twice (2017 and 2019).

  • The Summer Solstice Sixes, the six-a-side competition, first played in 2018. It has been won by Garðabær (2018) , Reykjavík (2019 and 2020) and Hafnarfjördur(2021).

  • The Íslensk Premier League, the T20 competition, first played in 2020. It was won by Kópavogur(2020) and Hafnarfjördur(2021).

  • The Sixty Ball Shootout, the T10 competition, first played in 2020. It was won by Kópavogur(2020) and Reykjavík(2021).

  • The Samuel Gill Trophyan exhibition match between the Íslensk Premier League champions and the Rest of Iceland, first played in 2020. It is named after Samuel Gill, a former Chairman of the Icelandic Cricket Association, who played in the Iceland national team's first match twenty years previously. It was won by the Rest of Iceland in 2020 and 2021.

  • The Ashes on Ice Test, an exhibition 2 day test match between winners of Íslensk Premier League champions and Sixty Ball Shootout will be played in 2022. 

  • The Valhalla Cupthe 40 over a side competition which will be played in 2022.

bottom of page