top of page


Hafnarfjördur reclaimed the Summer Solstice Sixes title they won in the competition's inaugural season in 2018 by beating the defending champions (and two-time winners) Reykjavík in a remarkable final. The Hammers' opening batsmen, Dushan Bandara and Chamley Fernando, put the Vikings to the sword by scoring a whopping 85 in their five overs, the highest total yet made in this tournament.

A new format saw the round-robin replaced by a straight knockout, with each club providing an A and B team. The first round went to form, but was notable for a (then) record score of 82 for 6 by Reykjavík A, which would later be surpassed in the final, and a record low of 28 for 3 by Kópavogur B. Derick Deonarain continued his wonderful form from the first half of the season, and Dushan Bandara appeared to have completely recovered from the hand injury that kept him out of Hafnarfjördur's games in June. They dominated the first round, though Reykjavík's B team came within a whisker of knocking out the eventual champions.

The semi-finals saw the clubs' senior teams face off. Deonarain set up a competitive score for Reykjavík, and Kópavogur were never quite in touch with the chase, though an enterprising knock from Jakob Robertson brought them within 13 of the target. Hafnarfjördur then proved more than a match for Vesturbær who, without Sebastiaan Dreyer, were just a little short of firepower at the top of the order.

Thus the only two previous Sixes champions met in the decider. As the Hammers racked up their huge score, the Vikings' hearts sank and their shoulders dropped. Scoreboard pressure told in the end, and despite another great effort by Deonarain, Reykjavík could never keep up.

Summer Solstice Sixes finals

2018 Hafnarfjördur beat Garðabær by five runs at Kórinn

2019 Reykjavík beat Garðabær by one wicket at Víðistaðatún

2020 Reykjavík beat Kópavogur by three runs at Víðistaðatún

2021 Hafnarfjördur beat Reykjavík by 35 runs at Víðistaðatún

The winning Hafnarfjördur team (L to R): Javed Miakhiel, Chamley Fernando, Tajdar Khan, Samuel Gill (captain), Dushan Bandara, Sulaman Nawaz.



bottom of page